How Parliament of Romania works
You are here: Home > Introduction > How Parliament of Romania works > Structure Printable version
 [ < prev ]  [ next > ]
Structure of the Parliament

The Parliament of Romania has a bicameral structure, and is formed of the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate, appellations taken over from Romanian constitutional traditions. The Romanian bicameral system is substantiated by the necessity of ensuring a balance in the exercise of the parliamentary functions, by the requirement to debate thoroughly the laws adopted, and to temper the authoritarian or extremist tendencies of a Chamber, in the appreciation of a state of fact, and in the selection of the decisional version.

The organization of each Chamber is regulated by its own standing orders. The organization of the joint sittings of the two Chambers is regulated by special standing orders of these sittings.

The internal structures of the two Chambers of Parliament consist of the Presidents of the Chambers, the Standing Bureaux, the parliamentary committees, and the parliamentary groups.

The parliamentary structures are formed in accordance with the political configuration of each Chamber.

Postal address: Palatul Parlamentului, str.Izvor nr.2-4, sect.5, Bucharest, Romania wednesday, 17 april 2024, 6:55
Telephone: +40213160300, +40214141111 Utilizator: